Skip to content

New Year’s Resolution (2010): Make more cyber-connections

January 11, 2010

This blog is my contribution toward Saint Joseph College’s goal of extending our reach and connections to a broad-based community. On a personal level, it is also a chance for me to become more cyber-connected.

A recent book by business guru Kenichi Ohmae suggested that the formula for the amount of time to be truly cyber-connected is one’s age minus 10 years divided by 10. I found that this formula does not really work for me. First of all, I do not like formulas that begin with my age. As for being connected, here too I am not starting from zero. I do have some connectivity. Doesn’t email count? I have two email accounts and I certainly shop extensively online, so I am adjusting the formula in my favor. There is more: I am on Facebook, Linked-In, and Plaxo; admittedly my pages are pretty bare and my postings rare to non-existent, but I am registered. Finally, I use Skype to “visit” my grandchildren, and have been known to harass my children to sign them on; this should also count. So by my calculations, with a concerted effort, this is the year for me to move from “advanced novice” to a much more exalted standing in cyberspacedom.

This year also begins Year Three of my Saint Joseph College presidency. It all still seems very fresh and often fun. I enjoy the challenges of higher education administration and the fact that there is much to accomplish and many people to reach. Relationships are still developing and this, for me, is the best part! As I work with trustees, faculty, staff, students, and community members to build upon the College’s strengths, I gain new insights daily into the demands and needs of my modest-in-size, yet complex, institution. I also continue to learn about the Greater Hartford community and some of the “ins and outs” of being a Nutmegger (that’s what Connecticut folks are called – I didn’t know!) My first two years seem now to have been the warm-up. With the initial connections made, I can now spend the next few years learning more about my new friends, my new community, and my new hometown.

Comments are closed.

